Apex Customer Portal Apex Customer Portal
Forums Pictures Articles Downloads
Advanced purchasing for Electrical, Plumbing, and HVAC contractors
Register Active Topics Members Search Bookmarks FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password Forgot your password?
 
 All Forums
 Installation
 Running Apex from a shared network location
 Printer Friendly Version  
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
admin
Admin



131 Posts
Posted - May 04 2005 :  12:24:42 PM  Show Profile Send a private message to admin
Instead of installing Apex on each user's workstation, Apex can be installed in a single network share and each user can run Apex from there. The advantage is that you only have a single Apex file to upgrade. If there is a performance penalty in having Apex accessed through the network instead of from the local hard drive it is too small to be noticeable in our testing. (All original Kramer Brotherton customers were set up to use Apex from a shared network location.)

To create a shared network installation,

  1. Create the network share on your server. You will need to be an administrator to do this, or ask your server administrator to help you. Apex users only need read access to this directory. (Apex never tries to write to the Apex program directory except when installing the program.)

  2. Copy the contents of the first user's Apex directory to the network share.

  3. Update the Apex shortcuts on the desktop and in Apex menu to point to the network copy. It is a good idea to set the "Start In" directory (or "Working directory" in older versions of Windows) in the shortcut properties to point to the network shared location.

  4. Delete the local c:\program files\apex directory.

To upgrade subsequent users, just redirect their Apex shortcuts to point to the program on the network share and delete the c:\program files\apex directory.

Apex 8.8 and above will have a new Network Share installation option which will allow you to install an Apex workstation to use a shared network location. The only difference between this installation option and the normal Apex installation is that if a user uninstalls Apex, the files on the network share are not deleted (which would, of course, affect every Apex user).

Until you receive an Apex 8.8 installation CD you can install a new Apex workstation by doing a normal installation and then redirecting the shortcuts as described above.



Jump To:

Set as your default homepage Add favorite Privacy   2017 Vulcan Software LLC All Rights Reserved.   Go To Top Of Page